Dashboard Forums High End Client Program Hero Story Questions Hero Story Review- Stephanie Tanis

1 reply, 2 voices Last updated by n d 2 years, 3 months ago
Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author

Stephanie Tanis
      Participant
        @stephtanis@remax.net

Why am I am Realtor…

I grew up in a household with divorced parents at age 3, both re-married at age 5, and my Mom relocated my sister and myself to Evergreen, Colorado at age 5. At age 9 we moved to Woodland Park. 

I also became a Step Aunt at 5 years of age, to my sister’ kids. 

Suicide was a common theme to this family, unfortunately, over the years. 

I attended Colorado State University from 1990-1994, graduating with a Bachelor of Science and emphasis in Cardiac Rehabilitation. I worked as an Exercise Physiologist for Cardiac Rehab at Penrose Hospital for several years.

My job was highly rewarding working with the recovering heart population, and allowed me make long lasting friendships and life changing relationships. The salary was meager, and forced me to work a second job in evenings at fine dining establishments nightly, working 16-18 hours on many days. 

Work ethic was never difficult for me!

I married my high school sweetheart in 1999.

I had a career opportunity to take a sales position at the Denver Mattress Company, where I moved quickly into management. Sales and management were strengths I excelled at, and working for Furniture Row was an amazing experience.

In 2005 my youngest brother passed from a recreational heroin overdose, at age 21!

After 11 months, trying to heal from my loss, I recognized that I could no longer “take care” of others, and my employees, and needed to “take care of myself”. I chose to leave my successful career in December 2005, as a step towards healing.